MARCH FAVS AND FLOPS

Throughout the month of March I bought a bunch of new products to try out. Some have made it into my daily routine and some flopped miserably. 

Side note: If any of the products that didn’t work for me, worked for you, I want to know! Let me know how you used them in the comments.

FAVS:

Tarte’s Tarteist Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint in Vibin

I received this product in my last ipsy bag and fell desperately in love with it. I love liquid
lipsticks and this one has quickly become one of my favorites. The formula is really beautiful and it doesn’t start feathering or flaking off your lips halfway through the day. The pigmentation is gorgeous, I honestly only had to reapply twice throughout my entire day which is a record low. Definitely one of the nicest liquid lip formulas on the market.

IMG_0769

Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit in Medium to Tan

Before purchasing this product, I had been a loyal user of Kat Von D’s Shade + Light Contour palette. But, because I have been pretty tan recently, I wasn’t loving the way that the product was appearing on my skin. The powder was either too light or so dark that it looked muddy. One of the main reasons why I love the Anastasia palette is because it comes in three different shade ranges. I know I’m fairly late to the party with this one but I haven’t stopped using it since I bought it. The powders blend very nicely and I’ve never felt like they make me look cakey. I also love that the palette comes with a highlighting powder. When I’m traveling, which is fairly often, I could just bring the Anastasia palette and be good to go.

IMG_0773

ARROW ENHANCE Waterproof Eyeliner + Brightener

I received this product in my March Birchbox and I am absolutely obsessed. I have been searching for an eyeliner to put in my water line that isn’t a chalky white and stays put. This liner is so pigmented, glides onto my waterline beautifully, and is really blendable if you wanted to use it as a base for a colored eyeshadow. It is a stark white l
iner but it’s pink undertone gives my eyes a really nice pop and doesn’t look chalky.

IMG_0776

bareMineral’s COMPLEXION RESCUE Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream

For days when I just don’t feel like putting on a full face, bareMineral’s Complexion Rescue has really been my go-to product. It definitely isn’t a full coverage product but it does manage to hide most of the discoloration in my skin and it has a beautiful natural finish to it. I personally wouldn’t describe this as a BB cream just because it does do a very good job at hiding the imperfections that most BB creams wouldn’t do. Make sure to read the instructions! You can’t apply this product with a beauty sponge because the main ingredient is water. Applying with a sponge, which is what I did the first time I used it, makes the product patchy. I usually just apply with my hands but a foundation brush works well too.

IMG_0777

FLOPS:

Urban Decay’s Naked Skin One & Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector

In my search for the perfect foundation for the days when I don’t want to spend time on my makeup, I purchased this product. I had very high hopes for it but unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. I wasn’t a fan of the consistency, no matter which tool I used to apply this product it never sat well on my skin. I tried it with and without a primer and every time I just wasn’t happy with the way it made my skin look. The formula was drying, by the end of the day my skin looked like it was flaking off and it never lasted the full day for me. If I put it on at the start of my day, by 9 PM my face looked like a hot mess.

IMG_0772

NYX Cosmetics HD Studio Finishing Powder

This product was bad from start to finish. I typically like to highlight under my eyes and set the concealer with a loose translucent powder. I was hoping to find a cheaper alternative to my Laura Mercier setting powder but this product is not that. I noticed that as I was applying it to my under eyes, it was lifting the concealer and leaving patches. When I went to brush it away, it left a very noticeable white cast on my face that I could not blend out. I tried brushes and sponges and it was not moving. The product was creasing under my eyes and moving the concealer to the point that I looked like I had used baby powder to set my face.

IMG_0771

Wet n Wild Max Volume Plus Mascara

This product was given to me by a friend that had sworn by it. I was so excited because this product is incredibly affordable and it would have been nice to not spend $25+ on a mascara. The first time I used it, it was okay. But, as I continued to use it, I noticed that the product was getting worse and worse. It was barely coating my lashes and by the end of the day, my lashes looked like I had nothing on them. I tried using it with a lash primer and that only led to the mascara flaking off onto my cheek.

IMG_0783  IMG_0784

ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip in LAX

I was really excited to try this product when I first purchased it because I had heard so many positive reviews of ColourPop as a brand and it was a very inexpensive liquid lip product. When I tried it on, my excitement immediately turned into disappointment. I purchased about 5 different shades and each shade was equally as bad. The formula was so drying on my lips and it started flaking about 10 minutes after I put it on. The pigmentation was horrible, the colors all applied very streaky and I had to apply about 3 times to get the color to look cohesive on my entire mouth. Just getting the lipstick on was even a challenge. So much product comes out on the applicator and the color bled basically all over my face.

IMG_0788

 

 

Leave a Reply

