Spring Brush Cleaning: NYX Brush Cleanser VS beautyblender blendercleanser solid

I cleaned 45 makeup brushes last night and it was the worst. Cleaning makeup brushes is one of the most time consuming activities that is SO vital to makeup application. Applying makeup with dirty brushes can cause you to break out and can leave your makeup looking muddy. Even though it’s one of the most annoying things to do, it’s necessary to do it.

My suggestion would be to clean your brushes little by little so you’re not sitting for hours cleaning a hoard of brushes. Unfortunately, I’m very bad at heading my own advice. To clean 45 brushes it took me a little bit over an hour.

fullsizeoutput_78d

I used two different products to clean my brushes, to see which one I would like to continue using to clean my brushes. I started with the NYX Brush Cleanser because I thought it would get me through most if not all of my brushes. The bottle is fairly large, 9.13 fl. oz. and it retails for $15.

I was really disappointed once I started cleaning the brushes. The instructions say to completely dip the brush in the liquid and then gently swirl. The product was definitely coming out of the brush but it wasn’t lathering all of the bristles as much as I would have liked.

The biggest problem that I had with this product was that I went through so much of it so fast. Because the liquid wasn’t deeply cleaning all of the bristles, I had to continuously keep pouring out more to re-clean the brush. 9.13 fl. oz. got me through less than half of my brushes.

For the rest of my tools, I used the beautyblender blendercleanser solid. I had used this product before but only to clean my beauty sponges. But, because it does claim to be able to clean brushes, I decided to give it a whirl.

I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product cleaned my brushes as opposed to the NYX cleanser. The product comes in small container and the cleanser itself is like a little soap bar. The soap is 1 oz and it got through the rest of my brushes with a little bit left over.

The product retails for $16 in Sephora, just one dollar more than the NYX cleanser, and it really deeply cleanses your brushes. In the picture above, you can see which brushes I used the NYX cleanser and which ones I used the blendercleanser by looking at the white bristled brushes. The NYX cleanser left a lot of the product still on the brush while the blendercleanser removed pretty much all traces of makeup from the brushes.

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Brush Cleaning: NYX Brush Cleanser VS beautyblender blendercleanser solid

Leave a Reply

